The Emotional Journey to Inner Peace

So, let me guess… the last thing you need is another article on Inner Peace. I’m with you on that one. As a life coach and spiritual teacher, I am in the business of “feeling good”, and some days it’s a little much. My Facebook wall has become the wall of good vibes, as all my friend’s status updates seem to be geared toward something inspiring or uplifting. I wonder, “how does Facebook know what post I want to see?”, because there is no way that all of my “friends” are only posting information that interest me. I guess its like the ads to the right of the page on facebook, and somehow they just know I am a women in my 40s that might want to buy face cream. I admit, sometimes, I miss the crude jokes and the otherwise non-positive status updates that my husband seems to get on his Facebook wall.

But here’s the thing… my life is mostly about personal and spiritual growth. It has been for a long time, and I don’t see that changing in the future. I love that I attract others into my life that have similar interest, even if it has a lot to do with Facebook algorithms. I truly believe if we are not growing we are dying. Just look around, all of nature is either growing or dying, and we are part of nature. Of course, growth is not always easy, but it’s always worth the effort.

Lately, I have been spending more time with my emotions, and creating “emotional awareness.” Its funny, I have been alive for over 48 years, and have taken more personal growth seminars than I can count, and yet, I am still somewhat clueless about how my emotions work. Maybe I am not alone. My investigation has led me to talking to friends and family about our emotions, sharing about some of the things that upset me, and asking questions as to “why”. What I have discovered in talking about emotions, is that we “think” we have it all figured out. We think we understand why others act out emotionally, have issues with anger, feel sad, have fear, etc. We become our friends’ therapist, and although we give them a shoulder to cry on, we also secretly think we have them all figured out. We say to ourselves, if they would just do this or stop doing that, then they wouldn’t feel so bad. So we think.

I think that its impossible to figure out why someone else feels they way they do. The only thing we can do is to try to figure out why we feel the way we do. It’s my belief that we are spiritual beings having a human experience. In as such, our spirit, or soul has chosen to come to the Earth school to learn and grow, and that our growth is perpetuated by our emotions. Our emotions are like messengers: they come to show you what you need to heal or to cultivate. Your emotions are unique to you, and that is why no one else will ever understand why you feel they way you do. There is a way to better understand your unique messages and create more understanding of your emotions, and it though getting to know your emotions. (For more information on this topic, I highly recommend the book, Heart of the Soul, by Gary Zukav)

The journey to inner peace is just that…a journey. I have been working at this for some time now, and just recently I am starting to understand why I feel the way I do. Its my personal journey, and it only makes sense to me. That’s ok. Afterall, if I spend too much time trying to figure out everyone elses emotional makeup, I might miss out on all those great status updates on my Facebook wall.

About Debbie Davis

Debbie Davis is an entrepreneur and professional Life Coach. She specializes in coaching with a spiritual perspective. Spirituality is a way of life, not a religion. The challenge today for so many people is finding balance between outer success and inner peace. By accessing your innate inner wisdom, identifying your core values, and working to transform fear into love, Debbie will help you create balance, happiness and fulfillment in your personal and professional worlds. For over 25 years, Debbie has been studying Eastern and Western spirituality and has worked with many master teachers. Combined with her successful career as business owner and entrepreneur, Debbie has the insights and experience to help you on your journey. Debbie is a certified life coach. She completed a year-long training program with Coach for Life, an accredited program with the ICF (International Coach Federation). In addition to life coaching, she shares her gifts and talents by writing, speaking, and teaching various classes locally and online
This entry was posted in Emotions, Life Coaching, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

